top of page


The IC-PTA developed out of the International Play Therapy Study Group (IPTSG) which has met, primarily, at Wroxton College/Abby in the UK for many years, organized by Dr. Charles Schaefer. The IPTSG is comprised of passionate play therapists from across the world to learn from each other and expand the credibility and integrity of Play Therapy.


A working group of IPTSG participants began in 2018 to explore ways to collaborate in a more formal way with existing national, not-for-profit Play Therapy associations and to mentor, support, and encourage play therapists seeking to expand Play Therapy in their countries.


On February 26, 2022, the non-profit association named "International Consortium of Play Therapy Associations (IC-PTA)" with headquarters in Lugano, Switzerland, was established. The Founding Members are, in alphabetical order:


  • Sue C. Bratton, U.S.A.

  • Isabella Cassina, Switzerland

  • Maggie Fearn, South Wales

  • Theresa Fraser, Canada

  • Sarah Harwood, Australia

  • Linda E. Homeyer, U.S.A.

  • Claudio Mochi, Italy

  • Akiko Ohnogi, Japan

  • Judi Parson, Australia

bottom of page